Issue :   
Happy Dussehra and Diwali to all Readers.          October 2019 Edition of Power Politics is updated.
Issue:June' 2019


Accolades for artistes

Santosh Mehta

Ayushman Khurana The National film awards were first time presented on the 10th October, 1954. The Government of India conceived the ceremony to honour films made across India on a national scale to encourage the furthering of Indian art and culture.
Every year the prominent jury, headed by well-known film personalities, selected the films for national awards. The 65th National film-awards were selected by well-known actor & director Shekhar Kapoor in 2018 and the national awards were presented by the then Information & broadcasting Minister Smriti Z Irani.
This year the national awards announcement got delayed due to the Lok Sabha elections. And these awards were announced on the 9th August in the Shastri Bhawan. The film jury was headed by its chairman Rahul Rawail along with 9 members, including Raj Dutt, Sabyasachi Mohapatra, Vasu Kolli , Archana R. Singh, Vijaya Krishnan , Major Ravi, Imo Singh, Vinod Ganatara, B.S. Lingadevaru and Ashok Rane among others.

This year there are 31 national awards for feature films category but in the nonfeature films there are only 23 awards. Some of the prominent national awards were given to noted actor of 'Badhai Ho fame Ayushman Khuranna and Vicky Kaushal.

Besides these Hindi films Marathi film 'Paani' is produced by Purple Pebble and directed by Addinath Kothare. The film traces the story of a dry and parched village that comes together to generate their most valuable resource-water.

Telgu actress Keerthy Suresh got best actress award for a range of emotions across vast span of time then Marathi film 'Chumbak' got best supporting actor award for the ability to invoke empathy in the audience.

The best children film "Sarkari Hiriya prathamika shale kasargodu” in Kannada got award.. The film effectively portrays the positive action of children to tackle the issue of language politics in schools located on state borders.

Vibha Bakshi

These prestigious national awards were given by the President of India.

This year the best playback singer Arijit Singh also got award for ‘Padmavaat’ song and best music-director's award were given to Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Padmaavat . Assamese film-maker Rima Das got best Assamese film award for her latest film 'Bulbul Can sing'. Punjabi film 'Harjeeta' got best Punjabi film award.

Internationally acclaimed Assamese film-maker Manju Borah’s latest film In The Land Of Poison Women got the national award.

Prakash Javedkar Prakash Javedkar Manju Borah In the non-feature film category Famous awardwinning film-maker Vibha Bakshi ‘s “SON RISE” got the national award for its powerful portrayal of the mindset and efforts against female infanticide, one of the cinema and making films on social-issues , she got an honorary doctorate from her alma mater Boston university for her as a journalist.

Non-feature film ‘Amoli’ - starring famous actress Vidya Balan,Raj Kumar Rao, Kamal Hassan, Jissu Sengupta, wins the national award. ‘Amoli’ is a definitive documentary on the communal sex exploitation of children ‘Bunkar’, directed by Satyaprakash Upadhyay, got awards for its rich, textured tapestry of the history, life, craft, and art of the traditional Varanasi weaver.

Minister of Information & broadcasting Prakash Javedekar said that jury made a lot of efforts for two months and they would have picked up the best films and best directors.