Issue :   
January 2018 Edition of Power Politics is updated.         January 2018 Edition of Power Politics is updated.
Issue:Jan' 2018


A The eight main chakras

Swami Maheshwaranandapuri

R.C. Ganjoo
Muladhara Chakra
Mula=Root, Origin, Essence Adhara= Basis,

Just as the womb of the mother creates the basic requirement for the growth of the embryo, the Muladhara Chakra forms the basis and the starting point for our spiritual development. It is the foundation from which we climb the ladder of the Chakras; the root from which we receive the nourishment for our spiritual development. That is why it lies at the lowest point of the spinal column below the Coccyx, it also bears the name "Root Chakra".
Every one admires the leaves and flowers of a plant, but hardly he takes any notice of the roots that lie hidden in the darkness of the earth.
The roots from the basis of the vegetation. From the sustenance received from the roots the sprout gains the power to penetrate the dark soil.
It grows upwards and produce flowers, fruit and seeds. Kundalini Shakti (spiritual energy) has its roots in the Muladhara Chakra, but it is in a deep, motionless sleep. When we awaken this slumbering potential that lies within the Muladhara Chakra we are able to work our way towards toe light of knowledge and attain the fruit of Self-Realisation.
Sri Mahaprabhuji described the process of the development of consciousness from the Muladhara Chakra to Supreme Consciousness in a Bhajan. In this Bhajan he mentions a Yoga technique through which we can awaken the Kundalani Shakti in the Muladhara Chakra. This Yoga technique is known as "Yoga Nidra", the conscious "sleep of the Yoga", which is able to give us deep and beautiful experience at a higher level of consciousness. It is also practised as a deep relaxation technique.

The Karmas of our past lives rest in the Muladhara Chakra, and from these arise the happiness or unhappiness in this current life (Prabdha Karma). From every act that we perform or have performed a seed is sown in the Muladhara Chakra that will, sooner or later, rise into the light. These seeds determine our fortune. In each lifetime we have planted innumerable seeds that continue to grow and multiply until a dense, impenetrable jungle has risen.
The Muladhara Chakra is the seat of the unconscious. It is like a dark, locked cellar whose hidden contents we have only a vague idea about. Perhaps there are precious stones, or poisonous scorpions or snakes. When a snake is sleeping, in an unconscious state, it appears to be peaceful and harmless, but in a wakeful state it can be extremely menacing and dangerous.
When the Muladhara Chakra becomes active, qualities within us, such as destructive rage, allconsuming passion, excessive desires, deep-seated anger can surface and astound us. On the other hand, we can also experience wonderful feelings of freedom, joy, harmony and closeness to God.
All these experiences await us when we open the door of the unconscious and illuminate it with the light of knowledge. When we recognise our reality within the Muladhara Chakra, our entire perspective of the world can change instantaneously.
One question that is often raised is whether it would be better to allow the unconscious to remain buried rather than to stir it up. The answer is that we can only attain freedom through this process. Further spiritual development is only possible when everything we have amassed is processed and purified, and all obstacles from the past removed' it is only when our vision is clear that we are able to recognise the path that will lead us towards relaxation.
We are not only responsible for what we do, but also for what we do not do. At times when our life opportunities surface, we can either remain a captive in the wheel of destiny or activate it.

Swami ji at the Vasudhara waterfall Yoga is the best method to work through our unconscious with complete awareness. The guidance of Realised Master who has already successfully dealt with this process is essential. He knows the dangers and obstacles on the spiritual path, and also understands our feelings and is aware of our condition. He can make us attentive, advise and help us when we do not know which way to go.
Confidence in the Master (Shraddha) is an essential requirement for success. At this stage or our spiritual development, we are like tender little plants that must be supported and protected from the rigours of the weather.
The Master gives us the necessary support, for he is as unshakable and firm as the Himalayas.
The main symbol of the Muladhara Chakra is an ELEPHANT WITH SEVEN TRUNKS. Generally the elephant symbolises prosperity and wisdom, and in the Indian mythology the elephant is the carrier of Brahma, the creator, who brought forty knowledge and creation.
The elephant is a valuable animal that brings wealth to its owner. It is said that in the brain of the fully- flown male elephant a brilliant pearl of unsurpassed value is to be found. This symbolises the treasure house of wisdom that is hidden in the Muladhara Chakra and should be raised into the light of consciousness.
The seven trunks of the elephant represent the seven basic materials of the body [(according to Ayurveda Rasa (Plasma), Rakta (Blood), Mansa (muscle), Meda (Fat), Asthi (bone), Majja (Bone Marrow) and Shukra (Semen)] as well as the SAPTDHATUS, the seven minerals and the seven precious gems that are found in the earth.
The Saptdhatus also symbolise the seven levels of consciousness:
- Unconsciousness,
- sub consciousness,
- dream consciousness,
- waking consciousness,
- astral consciousness,
- supreme consciousness and - cosmic consciousness.
Dreaming of a white elephant is a lucky omen, especially if you are riding on the elephant in the dream. This large and mighty animal, whose power surpasses that of a human, can be tamed and led by a comparatively tiny goad or thorn (Ankusha). The mind (Manas) and senses (Indriyas) are also compared with a wild elephant and should be kept under control by the Ankushs Mantra and discipline (Sadhana).